Twenty One Pilots announce new album ‘Scaled And Icy’ with lead single ‘Shy Away’

You can pre-order/pre-save Twenty One Pilots’ new album ‘Scaled And Icy’ here, and watch the official ‘Shy Away’ video (directed by Miles & AJ) below.

Shy Away is the first song we are sharing with you from our upcoming album Scaled And Icy.

— twenty one pilots (@twentyonepilots) April 7, 2021

The 11-track record was written and largely produced by Tyler Joseph over the course of the past year at his home studio while he was in coronavirus-enforced isolation, with Josh Dun engineering the drums remotely from across the country.

‘Scaled And Icy’ is “the product of long-distance virtual sessions and finds the duo processing their upended routines along with the prevailing emotions of 2020 – anxiety, loneliness, boredom and doubt”, as per a press release.

While working on the project, the band adopted “a more imaginative and bold approach to their songwriting” which resulted in “a collection of songs that push forward through setbacks and focus on the possibilities worth remembering”.


Other song titles on the LP include ‘Good Day’, ‘Choker’, ‘Saturday’, ‘Formidable’ and ‘No Chances’ – you can check out the full tracklisting and artwork below.

Twenty One Pilots – ‘Scaled And Icy’ official artwork. CREDIT: Press

  • ‘Good Day’
  • ‘Choker’
  • ‘Shy Away’
  • ‘The Outside’
  • ‘Saturday’
  • ‘Never Take It’
  • ‘Mulberry Street’
  • ‘Formidable’
  • ‘Bounce Man’
  • ‘No Chances’
  • ‘Redecorate’
  • Fans in the UK will be able to tune in to Twenty One Pilots – Livestream Experience at 8pm BST on Friday, May 21. Tickets details and further information can be found here.

    In a four-star review of Twenty One Pilots’ previous album, NME wrote: “‘Trench’ is the sound of a band ratcheting up the ambition without ever being pulled down by an undertow of pretentiousness. It’s more low-key than ‘Blurryface’, but ultimately more rewarding.”



    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *