Che Lingo drops soul-baring single ‘Out The Blue’ and announces new album

In anticipation of his follow-up record, Lingo has released ‘Out The Blue’; a sombre track to help “break out of the cycle of pressures, inherited and personal, that he and so many suffer from”.

Speaking of what inspired the song, Lingo talked of “Times where I felt like I was drowning, fighting things, emotionally and mentally I couldn’t even see and repeating that cycle…This is a story about times like that and how I sung and rapped my way through it. You’re not alone. Trust me.”

Director Reece Selvadorai described the “special” experience of working on the video.

“Giving Che the motion to express his feelings through underwater movement,” said Selvadorai. “We wanted to depict the struggle physically while we allow the audio to connect with the visuals giving the viewers an insight into Che Lingo”.

This follow’s Lingo’s previously released single ‘My Radio’, which features rock royalty Queen and amassed a million streams in two weeks.


‘Coming Up For Air’ will be released on April 6 on Idris Elba’s 7Wallace label. Check out the tracklist below

  • ‘Intro’
  • ‘Jaded’
  • ‘Out The Blue’
  • ‘Consumeriddm’
  • ‘Lowkey’
  • ‘Fighting Giants’
  • ‘Heart Race’ feat. WIINSTON
  • ‘Very Couture feat’. Kojey Radical
  • ‘Private Dinners’ feat. Jordan Mackampa
  • ‘My Radio’ feat. Queen, Roger Taylor
  • Che Lingo will also be heading out on a UK and European headline tour. Check out dates below and get tickets here.

    12 – Melkweg Upstairs – Amsterdam, Netherlands
    14 – Helios37 – Cologne, Germany
    15 – La Boule Noire – Paris, France
    16 – Botanique – Brussels, Belgium
    19 – 19th Apr: Poetry Club SWG3 – Glasgow, UK
    20 – YES – Manchester, UK
    21 – Academy 3 – Birmingham, UK
    23 – Lafayette – London, UK
    25 – Green Door Store – Brighton, UK
    26 – Louisiana – Bristol, UK
    27 – Hyde Park Book Club – Leeds, UK
    29 – Workman’s – Dublin, Ireland

    14 – Kuudes Linja – Helsinki, Finland
    16 – Hus 7 – Stockholm, Sweden
    20 – Lille Vega – Copenhagen, Denmark
    21 – Voxhall – Aarhus, Denmark
    23 – Privat Club – Berlin, Germany

    Previously, NME spoke to Che Lingo with his label boss Idris Elba about how meeting Idris Elba made Che “starstruck”. The rapper also opened up about his his politically-charged label debut ‘My Block’, that reminds people that “you can be the king or the queen” in any situation you choose.

    You May Like



    ‘The New Rock Revolution’ – what happened next?

    ‘The Mandalorian’ season three first look review: Baby Yoda’s back

    Mae Stephens’ colourful funk-pop sound is transcending TikTok

    Shania Twain: “I’m probably most proud of not giving up on my voice”

    ‘Final Fantasy 16’ is a lavish RPG twist on ‘Bayonetta’ – and it’s all the better for it


    Che Lingo shares Queen-inspired ‘My Radio’ featuring Roger Taylor

    Speaking about the new single and collaboration, Lingo said: “Creating and passing the torch is so important to the life of an artist and their legacy. The respect and love Roger showed me, knowing we took this track with Freddie Mercury’s (respective, original) vocal to another place in the hip-hop spectrum to create ‘My Radio,’ is a testament to how righteous it can be to work with artists from different generations.”

    Check out the video for ‘My Radio’ below:

    Taylor isn’t the only famous face Lingo has rubbed shoulders with – the rapper was filmed in conversation with label boss Idris Elba for NME’s Friends Like These series back in 2020.  You can check out their conversation below.

    In addition, Lingo has also announced his debut UK and Europe headline tour for April and May. Tickets will go on sale tomorrow (January 20) – you can buy yours here.


    Che Lingo will play the following dates:

    12 – Amsterdam, Netherlands, Melkweg Upstairs
    14 – Cologne, Germany, Helios37
    15 – Paris, France, La Boule Noir
    16 – Brussels, Belgium, Botanique
    19 – Glasgow, UK, Poetry Club SWG3

    20 – Manchester, UK, YES
    21 – Birmingham, UK, O2 Academy3
    23 – London, UK, Lafayette
    25 – Brighton, UK, Green Door Store
    26 – Bristol, UK, Lousiana
    27 – Leeds, UK, Hyde Park Book Club
    29 – Dublin, Ireland, Workman’s 

    14 – Helsinki, Finland, Kuudes Linja
    16 – Stockholm, Sweden, Hus 7
    20 – Copenhagen, Denmark, Lille Vega
    21- Aarhus, Denmark, Voxhall
    23 – Berlin, Germany, Privat Club 



    Inside the fight to save the local BBC Introducing shows: “It’s so much bigger than just radio play”

    Shame: “When we started out as a band, we went about it in a pretty teenage way…”

    Riovaz: bright, genre-busting star steps out of the shadows

    ‘Overwatch 2’ director Aaron Keller on balance battles and what lies ahead

    Taeyang talks his first solo single in six years, ‘Vibe’ featuring Jimin, and what’s next: “There will be an album in the future”


    Watch Ghetts, Kojey Radical, and more in Nines’ new film ‘Crop Circle 2’

    Last month (April 3), Che Lingo teamed up with Ghetts for his new single ‘Black Ones’.

    The song will feature on Che’s upcoming debut album ‘The Worst Generation’, which is set for release in the autumn on Idris Elba‘s label 7Wallace.

    “’Black Ones’ is a day to day, cautionary tale of the hood for those who don’t want to be a part of it anymore having seen the destructive sides and want out now that they’re older and more wise,” Che explained about the track.

    “The aim is always to get out of the hood by any means necessary because it can be such a hostile environment,” Che continued. “This is me explaining what I see and what obstacles growing up without much means can do to your life if it gets hard enough. Regardless of your colour or background.”